My First Contemporary Calligraphy Workshop

I have been doing calligraphy for about 8 months now and my artistic journey has been a mixture of frustration and learning. I don’t have formal training on the art of calligraphy, but it is my sincerest desire to pass on the love for this craft. You know what they say, you just have to learn a bit more to have something to teach. So, on the 1st of May, I decided to offer a workshop for a larger group of enthusiasts. I have had several private calligraphy tutorials, but I finally decided to conduct a legit workshop!

13123371_10201939371441477_375116062148144261_o

The advertisement that I made and shared on my social media accounts last May 1.

I admit, I’m no expert in event organizing.

Planning the entire workshop was no easy feat that is why I am so grateful for my sister, Divina, who took care of the registrations and communications with the participants. If it weren’t for her, I think this workshop wouldn’t be successful. For those who don’t know, I work as a full-time nurse in one of the hospitals in Cebu. I decided to hold this event in Dumaguete, my dearest hometown. I didn’t realize that the choice of location made the planning even more challenging. Since I was based on another island, I could not just find a venue easily. It is thanks to a good friend, miss Therese Habana (who I encountered in my workplace) that I found a great place to conduct my workshop: KRI, a neighborhood restaurant along Silliman Avenue.

The Workshop Venue

KRI-4-710x575

The area inside KRI Restaurant where I had my calligraphy workshop (image from: nohrra.com).

Dumaguete18

Another view of KRI Restaurant (image from alianagimena.blogspot.com). I didn’t have the chance to take a photo of KRI because it was full when I arrived to do my set-up. πŸ™‚

I was really lucky that I had a chance to coordinate to miss Iris and sir Ritchie Armogenia of KRI. They were really kind to accommodate my request to have my calligraphy class in their place for a very friendly price, and that included the snacks for my students. As a sign of my thanks, I wrote something for them and I really hope they liked it. I would not mind going back to their place soon.

My Calligraphy Kit

Each of my participants received a beginner’s kit that I personally hand-picked. Each item in the kit was specifically selected to cater the hands of a beginner. Here are some snippets of what’s included in the kit:

13321957_10209332100841858_3117037040782445146_n

Credits to Miss Sue Quirante for the photo.

Screenshot (17)

One of my worksheets in the making. I used Adobe Illustrator for this, and the thing is, I only learned how to use it days before my workshop. πŸ™‚

Here’s the list:

  • Nikko G and Tachikawa G nibs
  • Oblique and Straight Holders
  • Calligraphy Practice Pad
  • Sumi ink in non-spill bottles
  • Pencil and eraser
  • Workbook with drill sheets made by yours truly πŸ™‚
  • The Scribble Manual from The Craft Central

My workshop partners who helped me with my materials were Pensgalore PH and The Craft Central. You should try to check out their page for more craft supplies!

Teaching a group of 20!

Some snap shots taken by Divina while I was discussing about calligraphy! My face looks awkward in the photos, guys. You might want to proceed with caution, haha!

DSCF6948DSCF6898DSCF6930DSCF6888DSCF6887DSCF6934DSCF6977DSCF6947

Class picture!

DSCF6993

I can’t express in words how proud I am of everyone who joined me in this workshop! These are the people who endured the messy inks, stubborn nibs and scribbling drills! Each of them received a certificate for completing the workshop alive. Haha.

I’m so grateful for the experience that I had in my first calligraphy workshop. What started out as a hobby turned into a passion to write even more beautifully. And I could not just stop there, I know I had to share and teach whatever it is that I learned while discovering this art. I just hope that I was able to instill a sense of inspiration in each of the 20 participants.

I had so much fun doing this, and I hope to have another one in the future. Keep posted for my announcement!

Keep writing, everyone!

DSCF6954

That’s me, the one with crafty fat fingers. πŸ™‚

 

One thought on “My First Contemporary Calligraphy Workshop

Leave a Reply

