My Decision Letter is FINALLY HERE!

After 1 month from the time my last outstanding document was received by the NMBI, my decision letter was finally released. I received it via email today! Here it is, guys. I have been waiting for this letter to arrive. All the efforts and prayers paid off.

DL01

This is a screen capture of the timeline of the documents that I sent to the NMBI.

Screenshot (92)

Notice that my Employers Reference was the very last one (June 14 2016) that was sent to NMBI because I had some problems with my employer’s policies on the provision of the company/hospital seal on the NMBI form. Because of this, I was really anxious for the result of the assessment of the NMBI and thank God that I was able to receive a positive decision.

Even though I was not granted immediate eligibility to the Nursing Register, I was very happy that my application was not denied, because there are actually four possible outcomes of the assessment:

  1. Eligible for registration
  2. Further information required
  3. Required to successfully complete a period of adaptation and assessment/Aptitude Test before we can register you
  4. Refused registration

outcome-of-assessment

 

The “adaptation and assessment” decision means that you need to successfully complete a supervised placement in an Irish health care facility, before you can be registered. This decision is taken based on the education assessment.

This decision is taken:

  • If the theory and clinical content or hours of your overall nursing or midwifery education falls short of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI) requirements
  • Where you have enough hours or appropriate content to allow you to complete a period of adaptation and assessment.

DL02

DL03

If you have an employer in Ireland, they can fill out the Request for Candidate Certificate and send it to NMBI along with a letter that will indicate the dates of your adaptation placement.

DL04

As of 24 May 2016, here’s the list of approved facilities for the Adaptation Program for the General Nursing Division:

Untitled

Guess where’s mine? It’s going to be in the 2nd largest city in Ireland. Take your pick! 🙂

What are you waiting for? The NMBI process doesn’t seem as difficult as you think. Mine took just around 2 months to complete it. Just bring along with you a huge amount of patience and dedication and start working on your dreams to become a nurse in Ireland. Let’s soar high and roam around the Emerald Isle. 🙂

141 thoughts on “My Decision Letter is FINALLY HERE!

    • Hello Bella! It will arrive soon. Are you with an agency? It arrives faster if you do. I will not be assigned in Dublin, but in Cork instead. I hope to see you soon! 🙂 I really hope and pray that I’ll be able to fly by the end of the year. 🙂

      Like

  1. Hi there scribblingnurse!are you with an agency?I am still waiting for my decision letter. I hope to meet you one day in the Emerald Isle. I wish I have the talent of scribbling just like you. Godbless!

    Like

  2. Hi, iclarify ko lng yung post mo na you received your decision letter via email,pwede pala yun?kala ko through snail mail.

    Ask ko lang din po,kung sa nmbi online account,makikita din ba dun ung final decision ng assessment or until decision pending lang po?

    I’m currently waiting for the decision letter from nmbi.at ang nakalagay sa nmbi account ko,decision pending since september 15,2016.my application is through an agency.

    hope to hear from you soon.

    thank you.

    Like

    • Hello Sid! Yes, I received my decision letter via e-mail FROM my agency, and NOT FROM NMBI. NMBI still sends out the decision letter via snail mail to whichever address you placed in your application. If you authorized an agency, they will send it to the agency’s address.

      Sa online account hanggang ‘decision pending’ lang ako. Usually pag decision pending na, they already posted the decision letter to your agency. And no, the decision cannot be viewed thru the account.

      I hope I have given some insight about your concerns. Malapit na yung letter mo! By the way, what’s your agency?

      Good luck, Sid!

      Like

      • Thank you Denise.Your answer is a big help. sa chesham agency ko and cpl healthcare sa ireland.

        sang hospital niyo po pala?thank you ulit.

        Like

      • in Tallaght Hospital soon.:-)

        where will you be assigned after your adaptation training in Bon Secours Hospitally?:-)
        and do you already have your flight schedule?:-)

        great to hear from you.thank you again.God bless!

        Like

      • I was also for Tallaght Hospital before! Tayo pala dapat magkasama. Hahaha. I heard na February daw next adaptation programme sa Tallaght?

        Anyway, sa Bon Secours Hospital na po ako mismo mag tatrabaho. 🙂 I’m still waiting for my Visa approval.

        Ikaw rin, God bless!

        Like

      • ganun ba.sayang.hehehe.

        talaga sa february na?nakakalungkot naman.hehehe.

        paano ka pala nalipat ng hospital?

        thank you ulit.:-)

        Like

      • denise,if you dont mind pwede ko bang matanong kung bakit ikaw nalipat from tallaght hospital to bon secours hospital?at paano nangyari?

        salamat.

        Like

      • Thank you very much. Though nakakalungkot lang kasi di ako makakalis ngaung year din.pero,no worries….ganun talaga ang buhay.move forward lang lagi…salamat ng marami ulit.ill include you in my prayers,as well.:)

        Hope to see you if not here,in ireland…:)

        by the way,how are you related to blanche penelope. 🙂

        Like

      • Be positive! I’m sorry, I didn’t mean for you to feel that way. Please do verify with your agency nalang po. 🙂 It would be nice to meet you soon! Gala tayo sa Ireland. Hehe, kahit gather lang kapwa Pinoy. I’m a high school and college classmate of Blanche. How do you know her? 🙂

        Like

      • God bless din sa new journey mo.:)

        No worries.My agency also texted me few hours after you told me the news.

        Sige gala tayo.I would love it too.:)

        We met in a recruitment agency bound for UK almost 2 years ago and we became friends.Pero hindi ko tinuloy ung sa UK.hehehe

        Like

      • Oh I see! Nice to know. I was wondering, how did you know I’m acquainted with Blanche? 🙂 Just curious, hehe.

        Please do keep in touch. I’d like to hear from you once you get your DL. I wish all the best for you. 🙂

        Like

      • I searched for you in facebook yesterday and I had a quick scan of it before I deactivated my account.I found out that we have common friend and it is Blanche Penelope.small world:)

        Yes, ill keep you updated. I’m excited for your new journey,too.I wish you all the best.:)

        Like

    • HI! Sa chesham ka and Tallaght hospital? Nilipat kami sa Naas General Hospital kasi antagal daw ng adaptation program sa Tallaght… Not sure pa daq kung Feb 2017 or within 6months pa..

      Like

  3. Thank you! You have been of great help. I am with Chesham and still accomplishing my Application Pack. Can I add you up on facebook? Hehehe

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for this news though I can hardly read half of the feedback Am also in the registration process trained in Africa I suspect that NMBI has a backlog Coz most of my documents sent via DHL aren’t uploaded yet but when I track them they were received in Dublin ages ago

    Like

  5. Hello poh!
    Thank you for sharing this. I am currently waiting for my DL, NMBI received the document they need last Aug 18. So, I am more than 1 month waiting. hehehe hopefully good news will come by next week just like yours. I’ll be assigned in Beaumont Hospital poh and I am under Chesham. hehehe

    Like

  6. hello denis, si ana ni kato mo pm nimo sa fb hehe. btw thanks sa imo help sa processing sa pack. Further info required na ako status and nag ask ra sila scanned national id card nako sa UAE kay mao man ako gigamit sa IELTS. hope to get my dl soon.

    Like

  7. Oh this process is taking forever I sent my employer’s reference ages ago and they haven’t updated my account Actually they received the last document in 23rd September and nothing has changed on my account still awaited Really demoralising

    Like

  8. hi I also trained in Africa. .they said they posted my decision letter on the 7 November ..I have not yet received it and again don’t have agency. .please assist me with a reliable agency

    Like

  9. Oh ok However when you read nmbi website they have a reclaimer that they have no preferences n can’t fasttruck the process for the applicants. To be honest that’s why I chose to do it myself and the other reason is I have been a student in England hence had a chance of attending a Health Sector job fair therefore I met different recruitment teams from Irish Hospitals which made it quite easy to choose even the hospital and location that I desired. On the other hand ringing NMBI from my home country is really expensive hence by using agency I would save this cost. We can only hope n pray that the process goes well n it also needs loads of patience

    Like

  10. Hi people is anyone experiencing delays Coz 2 of my documents have been outstanding for almost 2. Months now yet they have already received them. I have been ringing them weekly but no tangible reason for the delays. Apparently they claim to have received the documents but the processing team is delaying to update. Who is experiencing the same

    Like

  11. I don’t know if how long this processing would take, but I am a bit worried because I already resigned from my work. Based on the comments I have read, I think I shouldn’t have resigned at the first place.

    Like

    • Hi Dawn. Which step of the process are you currently in? Are you waiting for the DL na? If you have already made the decision to resign beforehand, I guess there’s no turning back now. Just embrace the time spend it with your loved ones. 🙂

      Like

      • Hi Miss Denise, I’m currently waiting for my application pack po. I am hoping na hindi naman sana ganun katagal. Tama po kayo spend time nalang po with my family and process my documents as well. Thanks po.

        Like

      • I see. If you have an agency, it takes quicker for you to receive the pack. And while waiting, it is best to gather all the necessary documents, TOR (including your post graduate programme), birth certificates, affidavit, etc so that you can return all the forms immediately once you have the pack. 🙂

        Like

  12. Hi! I’m also with Adaptive HVM. currently waiting for NMBI website to reflect the receipt of my Employer Reference in Section 2. By the way, I ticked the option 2 in Section 1, wherein NMBI will communicate with an agency in my behalf. will they send the Decision Letter to Adaptive alone? and will I receive a copy for myself? or should I just ask an update from Adaptive? I’m kind of getting impatient when I inquire something to Adaptive since they don’t respond timely to my emails and queries. ALso, I still don’t have an employer as of now. I believe I’ll be having one once my decesion letter has been receieved. I hope you could share some of your experiences regarding this matter! thank you! 🙂 – Nad

    Like

    • Hello Nad! If you authorized an agency, then the decision letter will be addressed to them. My decision letter was sent to Adaptive as well. It is faster that way compared to having the letter sent to the Philippines or somewhere outside Ireland. Hope all goes well with your application! God bless!

      Like

  13. Hello Maam! I checked my NMBI status online po and sabi is assessment complete, and will send decision letter by post. Ask ko lng po usually pag dito na na part, ilang days po lalabas ang DL? Salamat po!

    Like

  14. Hai friends ,
    This blogs are really helpful thankx . Just one doubt NMBI had asked for employer s mail id before 5 days , so i sent them it but they have not yet contacted them. And my status shows further information needed. Is there anything to worry??? Anybody had the same experience ?😕

    Like

  15. Hi denise this page truly provided information while i was processing my nmbi application..Thank you so much!ill be bound to st.james hopefully this may and excited at the same time nervous for the exams.anyway,god bless you and good luck to all of us!

    Like

  16. Hi there. I would just like to ask regarding employers reference. Coz i think im in a similar situation kasi walang stamp or seal from my previous employer in saudi so my asst head nurse made an explanation letter. Curious lng ako ano sabi ng nmbi about sa employers reference mo.

    Like

  17. Oh, and about my “needs additional information” issue; it was because my college sent “graduate programme” document instead of “general nursing ” form.. the transcript and all is sent properly. It was the wrong form filled and sealed by them which went wrong. Its all done properly this time and the postal tracking shows its been received by NMBI.. Thanks again..

    Like

  18. Hello Scribbling nurse,A week ago My NMBI status changed to “assessment complete, will send decision letter by post shortly”. How many days did it take for you to receive the decision letter?. I am not working with any agencies. My home address is given in NMBI..

    Like

  19. Hi…my current status in Nmbi is decision pending- Nmbi has finished an assessment of your application and wI’ll send a decision letter yof you shotly. ..it has been almost one month..when can I expect a decision letter from them?
    Please reply

    Like

    • Hi there. Did you address it to your home address? I think you better check with your local post office if they have any document due for delivery. Sometimes they get stuck in the mail. If not, ring NMBI. I think a month is too long to wait for the document to arrive. Sometimes they may have a discrepancy in the address that’s why it didn’t arrive on time. Hope this helps. All the best to you.

      Like

  20. Hi! Just want to say thanks for all your help! My status changed from Review Pending to Assessment last April 28th and today they changed it to “Decision Pending”. However , I have issues with regard to my name , I already sent an email to them and I spoke to one of their representatives about this and they asked me to follow up after 5 days. For anonymity , I’m just going to use pseudo names . I am married and the name that I used in my application is Frances Reyes Cruz which is my married name and the same name on my passport , however , NMBI changed it to Frances Soriano Cruz, Soriano being my mother’s family name and Cruz my husband’s family name. Am I right for asking them to restore my original name in the application (Frances Reyes Cruz) because the name Frances Soriano Cruz is not consistent with the name on my passport ? Any married women here who are processing their applications / already in Ireland ? Please help!😢

    Like

    • Hello there. Your decision letter is nearly there. About your name, I suggest to have it corrected because it may cause delay in visa application or during the check with immigration officers and even your registration here in Ireland with the Garda. Hope it turns out well. Keep calling NMBI until you get your name right. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I sent them an email and as of this writing I’m still waiting for their reply. I call them everyday to follow up , hopefully it will be resolved soon . I sent an Affidavit of Discrepancy together with my Section 1 , certified true copies of my birth & marriage certificates & passport , I didn’t have problems with my documents , that’s why I don’t understand how they messed up my name lol They received the last document from me last April 7th and changed my status from Assessment to Decision Pending May 2nd . I called them today and the lady told me that the Decision Letter has not been mailed yet , I really hope they don’t until they get my name right . Been really anxious for the past 2 days ugh

        Liked by 1 person

      • hi! I got my DL last week yay! 🤗 I got it sooner than expected thank God ! 👆🏼 I’m now waiting for my agency to send me the proof of payment for my Aptitude Test , hopefully i can still make it to the August batch, if not then I’ll prolly be scheduled for September 🙃 Thanks for putting up this blog , it really helped a lot. I got my DL in less than a month from the day they received the last batch of my docs . I wish the same for everyone reading this blog 🤗😘

        Like

  21. Hello. Just would like to ask: After receiving the DL, easy-going na po ba ang next process? I mean no need to wait for another months etc. for the next process? hehe

    Like

  22. Hi there. Can I ask something about the decision letter. My application status is “decision pending” since May 24, but up to now my agency (Adaptive) still haven’t received my decision letter. I did not put my address on the application form before, I wrote the agency’s address. How many days does it usually takes to receive it? Thanks a lot 🙂 🙂

    Like

  23. I have a decision letter that expires in November. But Im a newly registered nurse in UK and I wish to gradually move to Ireland. So can the decision letter be renewed and will it be possible for me to just take leave n visit Ireland to take the further examinations to be an Rn wdout an employer..?

    Like

    • Hi. I have heard special cases that the validity of their decision letters were extended, granted that they have already secured an employer and just waiting for adaptation or aptitude test schedule. I think it is best to have an employer asap, so that you can proceed to the next steps such as getting an atypical working permit which is necessary for Irish visa.

      Like

  24. thescribblingnurse My friends decision letter got rejected due to her education did not meet the NMBI standard. She is planning to make an appeal. my question is is it possible if she can apply for the midwifery registration again as she is already in ireland and working as a nurse for now.
    Your reply will be of great help thanks!!

    Like

      • She is working as a nurse but she cannot work as a midwifery if the decision letter is not given, They have mentioned in the decision letter that she can go for an appeal which i have asked her to do so. Is it possible to reapply for midwifery after few months working as a nurse.

        thanks

        Like

    • Hi Ria, as far as I know different hospitals have different schedules for adaptation. There are some who conduct adaptation every 2 months, others twice a year. In my employer, it has been 8 months since I started and there has been no additional adaptation program yet. I guess it’s best for you to apply and get an offer from different hospitals and see which ones suit you best. Good luck!

      Like

  25. Hello Scribbling Nurse, I am waiting for my visa stamped on my passport and then my employer will book ticket. Could you please tell me, that in your case how many days did it take to collect visa stamped on passport after visa application. Thanks for your previous suggestions..

    Like

    • Hello there! I suppose it difers from one Consulate to another. Even in my own country, some would take less than 10 days while mine took nearly a month. It all depends on several factors. I just hope yours will be approved soon.

      Like

  26. Hi kindly I wish to know How long does the work permit approval take? Seeing like mine is taking forever and yet I can’t apply for visa without it Thanks

    Like

  27. Hello, I was really glad that somebody is there to ease the pain we are going through ….well I am waiting for my adaptation dates from olol hospital drogheda can you plz tell me how long will I have to wait to get it. Anyways I recieved my decision letter in april this year. Thanks.

    Like

  28. Hi all ! My adaptation dates arrived its oct 16 according to my agent (cpl). Thankz for the support and guidance. So can U plz tell me whts the next steps. Just too eager to know….

    Like

Leave a Reply

